2016 Annual Students' Union Awards - The winners

Thursday 01-09-2016 - 10:22

The Annual Students’ Union Awards took place last night at Ramside Hall; with over 300 attendees enjoying a 20s themed event and free 3 course meal. The event, hosted by our Student Officers, had some fantastic student performances; including the Swing Society, Jazz Society, Durham Dynamics, Dance Sport and Funkyard.

The highlight of the evening was the announcement of the winners. The shortlist was released in May, with the winning students, groups and academics being
kept top secret until the event itself. We are delighted to now publish the winning students and groups.

Academic Representative of the Year
Alex Martinelli
Best College Club or Society
Trevelyan Cheerleading Squad
Best College Event
Trevelyan Lunar New Year
Best Student Group Event
Christian Union: Story
Outstanding Commitment to Improving Student Experience
Richard Bruce
Outstanding Contribution to College Community
Isabelle Horler and Hatfield JCR Welfare
Outstanding Contribution to Student Media
Will Firth
Outstanding Contribution to the Community
Holly Naylor
Most Improved Student Group
Rock Society
Outstanding Academic Support in Arts & Humanities
Professor Andy Beresford
Outstanding Academic Support in Science
Dr David Sanderson
Outstanding Academic Support in Social Sciences & Health
Dr Elizabeth Kahn
Outstanding Commitment to a Student Group
Ryan Murphy
Outstanding Student Support
Gary Cox
Student Campaign of the Year
People and Planet: Divestment
Student Group of the Year
Football Supporters Society
Honourable Lifetime Members
Millie Tanner
Daniel Morgan-Thomas
Anna Kenton
Thom Addinall-Bidduph
Nicholas Rudd
Daniel Cain-Reed
Dianne Sharp

Thank you to everyone who took the time to make a nomination for an award, and congratulations again to all of our nominees and winners.

Related Tags :

More Durham SU Articles

More Articles...