DURHAM SU BOARD OF TRUSTEES

MINUTES OF THE MEETING 5 JULY 2021

Members present: Anthony Baker, Clare Powne, Oliver Colling, Megan Wishart, Ola Wojciechowska, Caragh Aylett-Bullock

In attendance: Gareth Hughes, Lauren Hodgson (minutes)

Apologies: Ewan Swift, Sarah McAllister, Robert Smith, Seun Twins, Nailah Haque, Anna Marshall, Kathryn Ellison

Any underlined text is confidential and for Board members only, and will not be included in the open papers published on the website.

Usual business items

1. OPENING OF MEETING

Noted: apologies, no conflicts of interest or notification of any other urgent business.

The Chief Executive noted that Article 71 provides that a quorum for the meeting is five trustees, as stated in Article 71 "comprising of, so far as is practicable, having regard to any vacancies on the Board of Trustees, a majority of Sabbatical Trustees and Student Trustees over the number of Co-opted Trustees and at least one Co-opted Trustee." Although there were more lay trustees than Officers and students, the Article isn't absolutist on composition of the quorum, as long as there are five trustees.

2. APPOINTMENT OF A CHAIR

Appointed: Graeme Osborn as Chair of the Board, from 1 August 2021.

Chris Nash resigned as a trustee on 11 June 2021, with immediate effect. This renders void the trustees' resolution at the May meeting, to appoint Chris Nash as the Chair of the Board from 1 August 2021. People and Culture Committee has appointed three lay trustees to the Board after a competitive recruitment campaign. One of the new lay trustees has considerable experience at Board level and, following discussion with the current Chair, has agreed to put his name forward as Chair.

It was queried how the handover would be carried out to ensure continuity while also being able to gain knowledge of the Durham set up.

The Chair said that time would be set aside for a thorough handover with the current chair and there will be chance to meet in person at the end of July but said it may also be useful for other trustees to assist with handover if possible and if they are available to do so.

Concerns were raised around the risk of having so many new members on the board and only two lay trustees that are experienced, as well as having a new Trustee as chair.

The Chair confirmed that this was higher risk and needs to be worked through in the best way possible with support until current trustees vacate their posts. Training and support will be crucial and work will need to be put into this to ensure as much is in place as possible to reduce some of the risk. Looking at a more staggered way of recruiting in the future and possible ways to adjust terms.

The Chief Executive added that one trustee has only been appointed for one year to start the process of staggering, and the student trustees are staying for 18 months this year and the current President will be staying on for another year. This slightly reduces the overall risk. There were three appointable candidates for the original two posts when interviews were held, so this is just appointing three now instead of two. Assembly has ratified the appointment of all three Trustees.

The Chair of People and Culture Committee stated that three candidates were very strong and very appointable so there should be no worries on that part.

Information on the three appointed trustees; Hannah Sketchley, Jonny Snowdon and Graeme Osborn will be circulated to Board members via email.

The Board appointed Graeme Osborn as Chair of the Board, from 1 August 2021.