We hope everyone who attended the Annual Awards ceremony on the 14 June had a lovely evening – the staff and Officers at Durham SU certainly did! It was great to see so many amazing student groups celebrating each other’s work, listen to some touching speeches, eat some great food, and enjoy incredibly talented performances. And of course, we can’t forget our well-deserved award-winners. You can see the shortlisted staff/students/groups below with the winners of each category indicated by a star.

Transforming Education

Academic partnership

  • Rossella Peressini – Assistant Professor in the School of Modern Languages and Cultures

Academic representation

  • Naitik Jain – Third year BA Accounting and Finance
  • Kira Browne – Third year Italian
  • Alex Greenen – Second year Maths

Contribution to the learning community

  • Dr. Oana Burcu – Teaching fellow in the School of Government and International Affairs
  • Arved Werner Kirschbaum – Academic Affairs Officer for Durham University Classics Society
  • Professor Simone Abram – Department of Anthropology
  • Dr Zoë Roth – Assistant Professor in the School of Modern Languages and Cultures

Building stronger student communities

Best college group

  • St. Aidan’s International Society
  • Hild Bede Badminton
  • Grey College Charity Fashion Show

Best student group event

  • Dancesport – Northern Universities Dance Competition
  • Harry Potter Society – Yule Ball
  • Challenging Stereotypes – Building an Inclusive Church
  • LGBT+ Association and Durham Student Theatre – LGBT+ History Month Showcase

Contribution to the local community

  • CATSS Project
  • Durham University Pro Bono Society
  • Elena Martin and St. Cuthbert’s Society Outreach Committee

Best new student group

  • Blood Donation
  • Latin Social Dance
  • Trans Association

Outstanding commitment to a student group

  • Rhys Lewis Jones – Durham University Labour Club
  • Tim Matthews – Champagne Society
  • Sam Johnson-Audini – LGBT+ Association
  • Matthew Calvert – Purple Radio
  • Ana-maria Cirstea – Durham University Photography Society

Student group of the year

  • Palatinate
  • Durham University Labour Club
  • Purple Radio

Contribution to the college community

  • Jamie Graham – Ustinov
  • Zhen Wei Chew – Hatfield
  • Matt Jacobs – Collingwood
  • Helen Paton – St. Mary's

Making everyday life fairer

Best campaign

  • Purple Radio – Mental Health Week
  • SwDA – Snowwatch
  • Helen Paton – NUS Campaign

Student support (staff)

  • Clarissa Humphreys
  • Catherine Paine
  • Carly Beckerman

Contribution to student wellbeing

  • Luke Armitage
  • Katherine Ellis
  • Amelia McLoughlan
  • Sam Osman



  • Esther Green
  • James Creer
  • Louise Shillinglaw
  • Megan Croll
  • Robert Gillespie
  • Rosa Tallack